1001 S 6th St.

Springfield, IL 62703

(217) 492-9000

Call Us Today

medical malpractice lawyer springfield il

Experience you need. Results you deserve.

Put our 40 years of experience to work for you.  We help our clients throughout Central Illinois who are victims of work injuries, auto accidents, and other mishaps caused by unsafe conditions or the negligence of others. Our firm specializes in workers’ compensation, car accidents, and personal injury law.

Collinsville IL Worker’s Compensation: FAQ about Worker’s Compensation Claims

Here’s what you need to know about workers’ compensation

Trying to hold down a job can kill a person, or seriously injure them. When you’re injured on a job site, it’s important to know the facts about workers’ compensation before you file. However, many people aren’t well-versed in this subject and don’t know how to deal with work injuries properly. With that in mind, we’ll go over some of the most commonly asked questions about workers’ compensation and provide the information you need to figure out the status of your own claim – read below for more details!

What is workers’ comp?

Workers’ compensation is like an insurance policy that each employer in the State of Illinois must have. It covers medical expenses, lost wages, vocational training and more for those that have been injured on the job.

workers’ compensation collinsville illinoisWhat are the steps to a workers’ comp case?

While the process varies by state, the general process in the State of Illinois includes the following:

  • The employee should inform the employer of the injury, no later than 45 days in Illinois or 30 days in Missouri following the injury.
  • In Illinois, for injuries that result from excessive doses of radiation, the employee has 90 days to notify the employer of the injury.
  • After receiving notice of the injury, the employer should notify the insurance carrier or workers’ comp administrator.
  • The employer must immediately begin TTD (temporary total disability) payments or provide the employee with a written explanation of what information they need or why their claim is being denied, if applicable.

Who can file for workers’ comp?

Anybody who is injured on the job or develops a serious illness as a result of their working conditions can file for workers’ compensation.

What if my claim is denied?

Claims may be reflected for a number of reasons including providing false information, being under the influence of drugs or alcohol when the incident took place or waiting too long after the incident to file a claim! However, if your claim is denied without reason, you can appeal it through the proper channels.

How much in benefits am I eligible for?

It’s impossible for us to tell you how much compensation that you’ll receive. This depends on the severity of the injury, your income, hours worked and much more.

Do I need an attorney?

You don’t need an attorney to file a workers’ comp claim. However, the legal advice of an experienced professional may come in handy, especially if your claim is denied and you must appeal.



LaMarca Law office, P.C.

Most Popular